How do we make our facility into an Allergen Friendly Bakery?
We implemented allergen guides: Color codes, identification labels, utensil segregation, table differentiation, careful packaging procedures, and other preventative measures are used to avoid cross-contamination. We handle and bake certain products at different moments in the day. That means, for example, we prepare and bake gluten-free products only with one another. In general, we limit gluten, eggs, dairy, soy, and nut use in our kitchen. We scrub down tables after each use. We separate ingredient inventory. We understand our community’s sensitivities and the risks involved. It is our responsibility to set higher standards and to continuously adapt to new ingredients. With that said that doesn’t mean there is no possibility of trace allergens of cross-contamination.
Our facility carries ingredients including and not limited to: Almonds, Hazelnuts, Coconuts, Soy, Wheat, Milk, Eggs, and Gluten; So, we cannot guarantee that our products have not come into contact with an allergen. We are a peanut-free facility. The 8 major allergens recognized by the FDA are wheat, tree nuts, soy, milk, shellfish, fish, and eggs. In terms of packaging, we label all 8 major allergens recognized by the FDA in the following statements “ALLERGEN WARNING: CONTAINS ALMONDS” and “ALLERGEN WARNING: MAY CONTAIN SOY”. The difference is that one represents an actual ingredient of the recipe and the other is an indirect ingredient such as the oil used to grease a pan, respectively. If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to us.